Watching Stars!

If there is something that has retained with me through all these years is my habit of staring at stars. I spent my childhood in a hill station in the Himalayas. We lived in govt. constructed house with each one having separate veranda and a backyard to play and walk. We had a mango tree in the backyard, which was my fortress for few years when its branches lay nearer to the ground forming a space between itself and trunk. I had put two cement blocks inside the space where we used to sit after school. I remember it faintly but what I clearly remember is starring at stars on clear nights.

Because we lived in a hill station, I could clearly see the night sky on most days without ever having to worry about smog, pollution affecting the visibility. I now wonder if it is the reason why people don’t sat outside and appreciate such clearly visible beauty.

I was so amazed at the vastness of space that I instantaneously fell in love. It always feel so cool to realize that we are just a spec on a spec, and it puts my frustration in place and I can forget about them at that very moment. Some people go to temple, some go to therapy, some go to clubs but I go out, sit and watch stars. Sometimes I forget the ground underneath my feet and it feels like touching the sky. It is great perspective to understand that how little we are in the whole universe and sometime all we need is the realization that we are just a spec in this vastness of space.

I live in a city now and whenever I get time, I sit outside and gaze at stars and it gives me same contentment as if I am again a child. Although the sky is not very clear on most days and the stars looks far. From time and again, I go back to hills to renew myself both mentally and physically. As someone puts it well:

“Once you have lived with mountains for any length of time, you belong to them, and must return again and again”.


Image: (C) Calvin and Hobbes

I would be happy to hear from you

